Teenagers 10 Keys to Eating Success

These 10 tips are straight from teenagers who have lost weight and kept it off – this is taken from a book that I highly recommend for you AND your parents!

Anne M. Fletcher’s book called “Weight Loss Confidential – How Teens Lose Weight and Keep It Off – And What They Wish Parents Knew”

1. They changed what they drink. “Eight out of ten teens said they drink more water now than when they were heavier”


2. They cut the fat. “I avoid all notoriously fatty foods and greasy ways of preparing foods.”


3. They downsize portions. “Once I used portion control, I began to lose weight.”

4. They eat more fruit and vegetables. “Substitute veggies for one dinner item…try replacing an item that’s more fattening – such as flaky dinner rolls with butter – with an extra vegetable. When looking at a dinner plate, fruits, veggies and whole grains should take up most of the space.”


5. They eat regular meals. “I never used to eat anything for breakfast, but then I read a study that said eating nothing for breakfast is just as bad as eating a fatty piece of steak with mashed potatoes and gravy every morning. Needless to say, I eat breakfast now. Skipping meals doesn’t work for me.”


6. They shifted their carbs. “Since losing weight, I eat more fiber-rich foods, such as fruits, vegetables, beans and whole grains.”


7. They don’t deprive themselves. “I don’t disallow foods, so I’m not tempted by forbidden things. If I crave cake, I have a piece – but not the whole cake.”


8. They snack smarter. “I eat one or two snacks a day, ranging from hummus on pita bread to yogurt to fruit to a controlled portion of kettle chips.”


9. They switched restaurants. “Before I go to a restaurant, I set my mind on what I’m going to eat. I fill up on water and salad and try to limit myself to one slice of bread or a roll.”


10. They party wisely. “I survey the food selection and plot out what I’ll eat ahead of time.” They focus on socializing and move away from the food.


One Comment on “Teenagers 10 Keys to Eating Success”


Leave a Reply

